Check out the bestselling children's picture books, and place a hold today!
Just click on the cover that you want. Need more suggestions? Check out BookLetters.

Click Here for TumbleBooks


Kids' Events Highlights 

 

Summer Reading and Activities
Readers ages 12 and under are invited to explore reading this summer as Lincoln Public Library presents On Your Mark, Get Set…READ!” summer reading program. SRP 2016

Read through the summer with our reading BINGO card, come to activities, and earn prizes and free books through your reading. Readers can sign up to join us for various activities including Big Ryan’s Tall Tales, LEGO builds, book bingo, chocolate Olympics, crafts, fun movies, Miss Katie Sings, other performers, and much more! Join us as we jump into reading this summer with all sorts of exploration and fun!

Registration is going on now and the program will run from July 5th to August 12th. In order to participate in summer activities children must register and join the Summer Reading Program. Registration and all programs are free of charge.

Support for the Summer Reading Program comes from the RI Office of Library and Information Services and the Institute of Museum and Library Services as well as the Friends of the Lincoln Public Library.

Full List of Summer Activities

Calendar and Rules 2016

SRP BINGO Reading Cards 2016

Henry riding

 

 

Henry Gets Moving Storytime
During the summer of 2016 Dr. Pierre Rouzier will be riding his bike 4000 miles across the United States to raise awareness for childhood health. He will start in June on the coast of Oregon and finish in August in Boston. Dr. Rouzier is the author of a children’s book, “Henry Gets Moving”, which promotes physical activity and healthy eating habits for children and families. At various stops along the way Dr. Rouzier will be donating copies of “Henry Gets Moving” to local libraries and doing readings to children and their families.

Dr. Pierre Rouzier will be here on July 22nd at 11:30 AM to read his book Henry Gets Moving in a special storytime for our patrons! All are welcome to attend! 

 

 

 

 

 

Kid's Movie
Summer is here and boy is it hot! Looking for a nice cool activity? How about a movie? The Lincoln Public Library will be showing Everyone's Hero on August 4th at 6:00pm

Everyone's Hero

10-year-old baseball fan Yankee Irving is always the last one picked for sandlot baseball games. But when Babe Ruth's prized bat is stolen during the 1932 World Series, Yankee steps up to the plate to help retrieve it for his beloved idol. He embarks on a wild cross-country journey that teaches him the stuff of real heroes, and along the way, Yankee learns that importance of perseverance and the true meaning of friendship.

Join us for this delightful movie as we get celebrate summer, the sun, and racing to read!

 

 

 

Storytime

Summer Storytime
Preschool Storytime
This summer children ages 2-5 can join us for four special times. Sign up for one, or all four and come in for special stories, songs, rhymes, and a thematic craft! Dates and times are as follows: July 5th, 14th, 19th, and 28th at 11:00 AM. Please register for the date of your choice.


Baby Rhyme Time
We’re looking for little ones ages 0-2 to sign up for a special Summer Storytime Session! Register for songs, rhymes, finger plays, stories, and more as we explore the fun of reading! Dates and times are as follows: July 13th, 29th and August 10th at 10:00 AM. Please register for the date of your choice.

 

Roller Girl


Book Discussion
Join us on July 25th, Monday at 6:00 PM to discuss Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson, the 2016 Kids Reading Across Rhode Island Book Selection! Books will be availabe at the circulation desk to check out. (Ages 8-12)

The Newbery Honor Award Winner and "New York Times" bestseller "Roller Girl" is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's"Smile"

For most of her twelve years, Astrid has done everything with her best friend Nicole. But after Astrid falls in love with roller derby and signs up for derby camp, Nicole decides to go to dance camp instead. And so begins the most difficult summer of Astrid's life as she struggles to keep up with the older girls at camp, hang on to the friend she feels slipping away, and cautiously embark on a new friendship. As the end of summer nears and her first roller derby bout (and junior high ) draws closer, Astrid realizes that maybe she "is "strong enough to handle the bout, a lost friendship, and middle school in short, strong enough to be a roller girl.

In this graphic novel debut that earned a Newbery Honor and five starred reviews, real-life derby girlVictoria Jamieson has created an inspiring coming-of-age story about friendship, perseverence, and girl power

 

 

Check Out the Children's Blog
The Children’s Room has started a new blog for book reviews by you! Go to http://lplkidsblog.blogspot.com/ and post your review today. It’s also a great place to go to get some ideas on what to read!

 


 

Lego
LEGO Build

Thursday, July 28th, 2:00-4:00 PM, Tuesday, August 9th, 11:00 AM- 1:00 PM
The Library’s DUPLOs and LEGOs are available for your creative use and to try out our weekly challenges! Check it out!
(Ages 3-12)



Unless otherwise noted, registration opens 2 weeks before each event. Please call the Children's Room at 333-2422, ext. 15 to reserve a spot.

 

 

TumbleBooks

 

 

The TumbleBook Library now offers a selection of graphic novels,
including Geronimo Stilton and Nancy Drew! There's also picture books, chapter books,
read-a-longs, and much more. Check it out!

 

 

 

 

TumbleBookLibrary

TumbleBookLibrary
The Lincoln Public Library subscribes to the TumbleBookLibrary, an online collection of animated, talking picture books. Check them out!




 

Tumblr Blog
The Lincoln Public Library is now blogging on Tumblr! Check it out! tumblr

 

 

 

 

A Complete listing of all Events...

Check out our Library Photo Gallery for pictures from our programs.



Parents/Guardians Of Children

We hope you use our site to have a safe and fun World Wide Web visit. Users of our computer workstations must read and agree to our computer user policy.

In its mission to provide opportunities for lifelong learning, the Library is continually responsive to the changing needs of the community. The World Wide Web offers global access to information. The Lincoln Public Library’s commitment to public service reaches material available through this medium.